Faith to be Strong and GF Pumpkin Pancakes

IMG_0076.JPG

Eating pumpkin pancakes in my brand new kitchen chairs was the best way to kick off fall in my opinion.
I wanted to wait to break out the pumpkin until I’d developed a “fall plan,” being my plan to really slow down and celebrate fall properly this year since it’s my favorite season.
But then suddenly I was hungry for breakfast and being hungry throws all my self control out the window.
So pumpkin pancakes it was, topped with peanut butter and brown sugar since I’m out of syrup and trying to eat higher protein and lower sugar right now anyway. (I know, I know, so I put brown sugar on there instead?? Well….I have no excuse. But it WASN’T as rich as syrup would’ve been.)
I’ll share my improv recipe at the end if you’re interested.

I should probably admit that even sitting at my table was a minor victory, as I brought my brand new chairs in last night and was then compelled to clean house so they had a nice place to sit.
I’ll share the chairs and my plan for my kitchen in greater deal soon, but for now let’s say that a table not covered in junk is a pretty big deal.

I spent some time trying to catch up on the 365 Challenge from More Than Four Walls while I ate. I’m about five days behind, but it was the perfect reading for this morning. All about how Isaac got his wife and a soldier had the faith to ask Jesus to heal from a distance.
SO much faith. Abraham and Isaac trusted a servant to pick this wife for Isaac, as well as trusting God to guide the servant. The servant trusted God to give him a sign. Bethuel and Laban trusted this servant to be truthful. And Rebekah. Well…I don’t know.
Could YOU have gone off with a perfect stranger and married your cousin you’d never met?
I thought at first she maybe was just a pawn in a men’s world. But when the servant wanted to leave early and the menfolk resisted, Rebekah agreed immediately.
Not to mention hopping off her camel at the first sight of Isaac and willingly becoming his wife.
I heard echoes of the same trust in Matthew 8 as Jesus healed lepers, demon possessed men, and a servant who wasn’t even present.
In our age of suspicion and televised religious quackery, people’s immediate trust in Jesus amazes me.

Or maybe after moving to Nashville on my own and learning the ropes of being an adult, people’s trust in Jesus amazes me.
The questions that usually haunt me…what does the future hold? What area of my career should I focus on? When is God going to give me a husband and children? IS God going to give me a husband and children? When will I pay off my house? Should I be looking for a more permanent house rather than a starter home like this? What if my arthritic kitty needs expensive treatment?

IMG_0078.JPG

Those questions hang around when I try to talk to God. But I think from this scripture I’m sensing that i ought to be saying, “Lord, I know what it’s like to be in charge, people go where you ask and do what you say. I know you’re in charge of my life because I put you there. Would you please just work this out?”
I pray that this can begin to be my prayer.

Improv Gluten Free Pancakes

IMG_0077.JPG

I followed the pancake mix on the back of the Pamela’s gluten free mix pictured, (I know, I hate it when bloggers do this, but really that’s what I did)
Except that I subbed almond milk for a portion of the water and I did not add oil. Pancake recipes always call for it and I just don’t find it that important. Plus my tummy doesn’t handle fatty stuff that well.
I added around 1.5 tsp of cinnamon, a sprinkling of cloves, a tiny dash of nutmeg a spoonful of brown sugar (could’ve used more in the mix itself, but I’d have to test to be sure, maybe 2 tbsp total?)
I also added 2 TBSP of pumpkin and a couple spoonfuls of oatmeal.
I was improv-ing, and these could still use some work. Maybe some vanilla? Ooh and walnuts would be yummy. Plus syrup. Definitely syrup.

With that extraordinarily helpful tutorial, I take my leave of you.

Leave a Reply

